项目概述

WESLI教师培训计划 是一个密集的为期五周, 130-小时TEFL认证.

  • 课程采用动手的方法让学员有机会尝试新的方法和技术在一个支持性的学习氛围.
  • 每班平均9名学员, 允许因材施教.
  • 学员至少有三个主要的导师, 通过研讨会和课堂观察进入许多其他.
  • WTTP导师有超过七年的专业ESL (英语作为第二语言) 与EFL (英语作为一门外语) 教学经验. 大多数具有硕士以上学位的英语教育领域.
  • WTTP毕业生已找到工作的英语教学在中 45 国家.

总体计划目标

该 130 小时WESLI教师培训项目旨在培养有抱负的教师, 或电流从业者, 在英语的基础知识作为第二或其他语言 (TESOL) 在鼓励协作的环境, 批判性思维和文化能力. 这一目标将通过理论与实践的平衡来实现, 尤其注重实用, 亲身体验. 该方案将提供有机会的候选人申请并在语言习得理论的理论知识反映, ESL / EFL方法, 和评估理论在一个真正的ESL课堂. (注: 该课程的设计,以满足 TESOL国际协会ASEG草案短期证书课程标准 (2014).)

程序结构

该证书课程计划的目的是有 130 接触小时不超过五周的会议, 包含: 课程教学, 经验丰富的教师WESLI观察, 实习教学经验, 同侪观察 & 从经验丰富的观察家教学反馈. 考生也将花费额外的时间在课堂外完成必读, 研究, 感言, 作业和备课.

学时总数= 130 小时

核心课程时数= 100 小时 实习= 30 小时
基金会 (60 小时) 实践教学 & OBS. (20 小时)
技能 (20 小时) 辅导 (5 小时)
语法复习 (20 小时) 意见 (5 小时)

计划详情

类是星期一 – 星期五, 8:30我 – 5:00与大多数在上午上课下午.

WTTP的密集英语教学认证是高于行业标准相当长的时间 100 小时. 它包括 10 实践教学时数. 每名学员的工作原理与合作伙伴开发的实践教学过程中实施凝聚力教案. 学员观察实践教学的ESL学生五个实际的类, 每个观察后收到书面和口头反馈. 此外, 学员练习辅导五小时.

该WTTP提供比一般四个星期TEFL认证更多的培训和实践. 因为市场上的各种TEFL证书, 信誉良好的雇主往往要求TEFL认证的详细信息,以确定质量.

学员应该预料到花 8 – 10 小时,每天上课, 观察类, 实践教学与辅导, 备课计划, 和做功课. 有两个小时左右,每天的家庭作业.

兼职股权

一些毕业生已经采取了WTTP在两个或多个会话. 这可能是一个选项,如果你有一个灵活的时间表.

计划设施

WTTP坐落在一个历史悠久的砖砌建筑设计 1872. 从前面窗户的观点是国会大厦广场以其庄严的树木和优美的国会大厦圆顶.

舒适的教室, 计算机实验室, 和教学资源室鼓励主动学习. 学生休息室是放松和满足学习英语的国际学生的好去处WESLI. 你将沉浸在一个国际文化的经验, 一个友好和支持, 但专业, 气氛.

Program Overview

WESLI Teacher Training Program is an intensive five-week, 90, 110, or 130-hour TEFL certification. 

  • Courses use a hands-on approach giving trainees the chance to try out new methods and techniques in a supportive learning atmosphere.
  • Class size averages nine trainees, allowing for individualized instruction.
  • Trainees have at least three main instructors, with access to many others through workshops and class observations. 
  • WTTP instructors have years of professional ESL (English as a Second Language) and EFL (English as a Foreign Language) teaching experience. Most have Master’s Degrees in the field of English language education.
  • WTTP graduates have found jobs teaching English in over 45 countries.

Overall Program Goals

The 130 hour WESLI Teacher Training Program is designed to train aspiring teachers, or current practitioners, in the fundamentals of English as a Second or Other Language (TESOL) in an environment that encourages collaboration, critical thinking and cultural competency. This goal will be achieved by a balance of theory and practice, with particular emphasis on practical, hands-on experience. The program will provide candidates with the opportunity to apply and reflect upon theoretical knowledge of language acquisition theory, ESL/EFL methodology, and assessment theory in a real ESL classroom. (Note: The curriculum is designed to meet the TESOL International Association ASEG Draft Short-Term Certificate Program Standards (2014).)

Program Structure

This certificate course program is designed to have 90, 110, or 130 contact hours over a five-week session, including: Course Instruction, Observation of experienced WESLI teachers, Practicum Teaching Experience, Peer Observation & Feedback on teaching from experienced observers. Candidates are also expected to spend additional time outside of the classroom completing required reading, research, reflections, assignments and lesson planning.

Total Course Hours Available = 130 hours

Core Course Hours = 100 hours Practicum = 30 hours
Foundations (60 hours) Practice Teaching & Obs. (20 hours)
Skills (20 hours) Tutoring (5 hours)
Grammar Review (20 hours) Observations (5 hours)

Program Level Options

Basic (90-Hour) Foundational (110-Hour) Foundations + Grammar (130-Hour)
Foundations Foundations  Foundations
Practicum Practicum  Practicum
Skills  Skills
Grammar

Program Details

Classes are Monday – Friday, 8:30am – 5:00pm with the majority of classes in the morning. 

WTTP’s intensive TEFL certification is considerably longer than the industry standard of 100 hours. It includes 10 hours of practice teaching. Each trainee works with a partner to develop cohesive lesson plans which are implemented during practice teaching. Trainees are observed practice teaching five actual classes of ESL students, and receive both written and oral feedback after each observation. In addition, trainees practice tutoring for five hours.

The WTTP offers more training and practice than the average four-week TEFL certification. Because of the wide variety of TEFL certificates on the market, reputable employers often ask for TEFL certification details to ascertain quality.

Trainees should expect to spend 8 – 10 hours per day attending classes, observing classes, practice teaching and tutoring, preparing lesson plans, and doing homework. There is about two hours of homework per day. 

Part-Time Option

Some graduates have taken the WTTP over two or more sessions. This may be an option if you have a flexible schedule. 

Program Facilities

WTTP is located in an historic brick building designed in 1872. The view from the front windows is of the Capitol Square with its stately trees and graceful State Capitol dome. 

Comfortable classrooms, a computer lab, and a teaching resource room encourage active learning. The student lounge is a good place to relax and meet international students studying English at WESLI. You will be immersed in an international cultural experience, with a friendly and supportive, yet professional, atmosphere.